33.7 C
New York

Cannes Film Festival: “Anora”, by Sean Baker, wins the Palme d’Or.

The Jury Prize at Cannes went to the film ‘Emilia Pérez’, by French director  Jacques Audiard.

Cannes 2024 ! Breaking the expectations of satire , Greta Gerwig and her jury chose to award “Anora”, by Sean Baker, with the Palme d’Or at this Cannes Festival.

The film was one of the most well- received of this 77th edition, but many believed that Mohammad Rasoulof would win, following a cinematic escape from his native Iran, where he is under political persecution, to be in France.

In his prayer , Baker defended the theaters and the collective experience of going to the movies. “The world needs to be reminded that watching a film at home , using your cell phone and not paying attention, is not the right way to go , as some technology giants make us think,” he stated, before allocating the Palma to sex workers, why the protagonist of his film.

The grand prize went to “All We Imagine as Light”, by Payal Kapadia, while the jury prize went to “Emilia Pérez”, by French director Jacques Audiard. “The Seed of the Sacred Fig” by Rasoulof received a private prize .

The jury also decided to award the screenplay award to “The Substance”, by French writer Coralie Fargeat, and the direction award to Portuguese Miguel Gomes, for “Grand Tour”.

Selena Gomez, Zoe Saldana, Adriana Silêncio and Karla Sofía Gascón were jointly elected best actresses for their work in “Emilia Pérez”, making the latter the first trans woman to triumph in the category. Best actor went to Jesse Plemons, for “Types of Kindness”.

Greta Gerwig, from “Barbie”, presided over the jury at Cannes

Gerwig served as president of the jury, which also included French actors Omar Sy and Eva Green, American actress Lily Gladstone, Italian actor Pierfrancesco Favino, Turkish screenwriter Ebru Ceylan, Japanese filmmaker Hirokazu Kore-eda, Lebanese filmmaker Nadine Labaki and Spanish filmmaker Juan Antonio Bayona.

Lubna Azabal, president of the film curation jury, also called for a sudden fire to be stopped in Gaza, before awarding the Palme d’Or for the format to “The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent” and a special mention to “Bad for a Moment”. . The Golden Camera, in turn, went to “Armand”, while its jury allocated a special mention to “Mongrel”.

The ceremony also saw the awarding of the honorary Palme d’Or to George Lucas, creator of the “Indiana Jones” and “Star Wars” franchises, at the hands of his comrade Francis Ford Coppola, who was in the competition with “Megalopolis”.

The intergalactic saga inspired the soiree hole , with a sign like those from “Star Wars” being projected at the Grande Lumière Theater, narrating the journey of “Jedi knights Thierry Frèmaux and Iris Konobloch”, director and attendee of the Cannes Film Festival.

The feature film “Motel Direcção ”, by Karim Aïnouz, and the short film “Amarela”, by André Hayato Saito, were left empty-handed. Brazil has not won the Palme d’Or for feature films in 62 years, when “O Pagador de Promessas” was awarded, while the short film continues to be an unprecedented award for Brazilians.

The country received a parallel award at Satire Week , in which “Baby”, by Marcelo Caetano, took the best new actor award, for the work of Ricardo Teodoro.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Palme d’Or: Anora, by Sean Baker

Grand Prix: All We Imagine as Light, de Payal Kapadia

Jury Prize: Emilia Pérez, by Jacques Audiard

Best Director: Miguel Gomes, for Grand Tour

Best Actor: Jesse Plemons, for Kinds of Kindness

Best Actress: Adriana Silêncio , Karla Sofía Gascón, Selena Gomez and Zoe Saldaña, by Emilia Pérez

Best Screenplay: Coralie Fargeat, for The Substance

Golden Chamber: Armand, by Halfdan Ullmann Tondel

Peculiar Prize : Mohammad Rasoulof, for The Seed of the Sacred Fig

Related Articles

Latest Articles